Balcony gardening in India…the adventure

My self discovery journey began with  the birth of my daughter .Now she is 3 years old and with her I have learned things about me that I didn’t know.

Taking care of a little one involves a level of mindfulness that mom’s gradually develop.My mindfulness meditation efforts started with balcony gardening.

A 12 feet by 4 feet space, 2 other small 5 feet by 4 feet space made me feel lucky beyond words .3 such spaces to test my green thumb was more than I ever hoped for.

2 years down my green friends on the balcony has grown.

Balcony garden..The lattice of leaves makes your view green
Balcony garden..The lattice of leaves makes your view green
Balcony garden..The lattice of leaves makes your view green
Balcony garden ..The bigger one

I had initially started the garden on my balcony with a single pot .Once that survived I became braver.Many  untimely suicides by little plants has made me a little wary of plantlings , but otherwise the greens on my balcony are a hardy lot!

Most flowering plants need a good 6 hours of full sun.My balcony is closed on all 3 sides.  So the only  way I could give the required sunlight was to poke their little green branches from in between the rails of the balcony.

That was what made most of my plants flower  abundantly.Organic fertiliser, bone dust, was my plants food source .No chemicals  was used ever.As my little  Rai is forever wandering around the balcony, I wanted to keep everyone safe and really be ecofriendly as far as possible.

Teaching my Rai to care for plants
Teaching my Rai to care for plants

Teaching children to garden is a great way to spend time with them.Its also an easy way to teach the next generation about being green friendly and not repeat our mistakes.

With each step of gardening I learnt a littlebit.One very important lesson  learnt was ,terracotta earthen  pots are the best! Even though they need a lot of watering in hot season,you really can’t beat them for being ecofriendly, recyclable, pocket friendly  and sustainable . Container gardening is creating green lives in little pockets.Its a challenge of biology, chemistry, environment and faith.

All other variety of container has its issues and  are neither plant friendly nor ecofriendly.But if you aim to recycle old plastic containers , then use them to grow non edible plants , not needing too frequent repotting.

In the morning after waking up, even my daughter goes to the balcony to say good morning to the plants.Plantslike all living beings respond to love and care as the famous scientist

Jagadish Chandra Bose proved.

They have not just made my home prettier but also made me calmer!A greener future should be a reality, not just a Dream.

The view of the balcony garden from the living room
The view of the balcony garden from the living room
Areca palm..purifying the room air
Areca palm..purifying the room air

Bringing the green indoors.

Flowers everywhere
Flowers everywhere

I read this wonderful article about kitchen garden    Summer to Autmn  and I was very inspired.Imagine fresh veggies for salads everyday through the year.I did attempt    vegetable container gardening last year with limited success.

This year I will plan and then attempt.I hate It when plants die because of something I did wrong or just plain Stupid!

A little bit of green..A little more oxygen for all of us
A little bit of green..A little more oxygen for all of us
Balcony gardening is a way to hide the concrete jungle
Balcony gardening is a way to hide the concrete jungle

My gardening journey and my journey as a mompreneur are  both journeys of self discovery.What you do to improve yourself, reflects positively in your life.

My blogging journey and my gardening journey are both exciting and fulfilling as I am growing something with both.

A Facebook post said

Imagine if trees gave free   WIFI

We would all be planting like crazy!

It’s a pity they only give the oxygen we breathe.

So true .and sad!

Oxygen is life sustaining for all living things and it’s only produced by plants.How immeasurably foolish it is to cut down trees.If development requires deforestation, then replanting the trees to a more suitable location should be a priority.

That’s why many countries are trying  vertical gardening as a way to increase greenery .

Vegetable gardening and vertical gardening are my next projects.Updates will follow.

I have tried being green friendly at home.

Share what you have done to go green.Lets make a greener world!

I wanted to join http://thepatientgardener.wordpress.com

end of month view.Truly  inspired gardening hop over there and see the beautiful gardens.

3 thoughts on “Balcony gardening in India…the adventure

  1. Pingback: Are We Living Yet?
  2. So great to find someone else in the same space! I have been gardening and writing since about a year and have hardly found any interest in India in this space. I stumbled upon your blog by chance and I loved it. Keep writing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

